New Associate Dean and Acting Director appointed

Congratulations to Drs. Rehan Sadiq and Mina Hoorfar.

Congratulations to Drs. Rehan Sadiq and Mina Hoorfar.

The School of Engineering’s long-time leader, Associate Dean Prof. Spiro Yannacopoulos, announced that he would step down at the end of August. We are tremendously grateful to Prof. Yannacopoulos for his leadership and extraordinary contributions in building one of Canada’s newest and fastest-growing Engineering schools, and look forward to his return as Professor of Engineering after taking some administrative leave over the next year.

Prof. Rehan Sadiq has been appointed Associate Dean of UBC Okanagan’s School of Engineering, and Prof. Mina Hoorfar has been appointed as the School’s Acting Director.

An active researcher in civil and environmental engineering, Prof. Sadiq has served as the School of Engineering’s Acting Director for the past two years. He joined UBC in 2009, after seven years working as a Research Officer with the National Research Council of Canada. He was named UBC Okanagan’s Researcher of the Year in 2014.

Prof. Sadiq holds a PhD in civil engineering from Memorial University, and his research focuses on asset management of water supply infrastructure, risk analysis, lifecycle thinking and environmental decision-making.

Prof. Hoorfar has served as the School of Engineering’s Associate Director, Research and International Engagement, and leads the NSERC- and CFI-funded Advanced Thermo-Fluidic Laboratory. An accomplished researcher and teacher, she received several research, teaching, and service awards including UBC Okanagan’s Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award in 2014.

Prof. Hoorfar has a PhD in mechanical engineering from the University of Toronto, and joined UBC in 2006. She is leading an active and diverse research program in collaboration with numerous industry partners providing training and job opportunities for students to work in multidisciplinary areas that straddle concepts of fluid mechanics, biotechnology, electrochemistry and microfluidics.

Please join us in congratulating Prof. Sadiq and Prof. Hoorfar in their new leadership positions with the School of Engineering. We are immensely proud of the accomplishments of our students and faculty members, and of the School’s growing reputation as a centre of excellence in research and teaching.

Leave a Reply